Hello There, Guest! Login Register

RX-78-4 G04 WIP - Beginner's work. My 2nd model.
You are going to see many advanced techniques and very professional looking models on this board. But not in this topic. Make no doubts about it, I am an amateur. I will also be detailing my ERRORS in this topic and trust me there are many. This will be my SECOND time to paint a model. I hoping that some of you can provide me with a bit of advice as I go along with this. Maybe some hints or some recommendations.

I don't have and airbrush so I use spray cans and hand paint.

I built the G04 about 3 years ago. It was a birthday present from a co-worker. After I finished my OYW RX-78-2 a couple of weeks ago, I decided that I wanted the G04 to be it's "partner". I plan on painting it in the same scheme.

Like this.
[Image: rx782116zg7.th.jpg]

Here is what the G04 looks like.
[Image: image050pb8.jpg]

As you can see, I pencilled in some lines on the leg because I wanted to add some extra panel lines.

I wasn't sure exactly how to do it so I just looked at the OYW Gundam as an example and kinda sketched some lines on it. Didn't use a ruler or anything just wanted to get an idea.

More on the panel lining a bit later.

So... I've decided that with each new kit that I do from now on I'm going to try a new technique. This time I'm going to try 'custom panel lining'. I was initially going to tape it all up like I saw in the tutorial and try it the slow way but... I couldn't be bothered and tried to do it by hand. It actually didn't look THAT bad but it wasn't the look I was going for.

Practically it looked like this.

[Image: image054mn5.jpg]
[Image: image056ri5.jpg]

Up close

[Image: 89815108yz3.jpg]